What is Your Favorite Commentary?

Dr. Nathan Parker

What is your favorite commentary? It can be single volume or a set, and whether it's in Accordance or not.

For a non-technical, I love Butler's Analytical Bible Expositor. As exegetical, I really love Baker's Exegetical NT.

Matthew Henry Commentary and MacArthur NT Commentary are definitely my favorites.

MacArthur NT is a great one.

• Like 1

It depends what and why I am studying but as I like my information with an underlying structure, typically I will use:  

WBC in combination with NIVAC and the

NT use of the OT and the JPS volumes when relevant. 

For a single volume i may use the oxford bible commentary as it works well with the nrsv if i dont have much time and need something a little more detailed than a study bible.

In most cases i will first use the ESV and JSB/JANT study bibles for an aerial view and then move to the above when i have time to dig and have got my orientation sorted.

This usually includes the holman bible atlas as you cant get lost with a good map!!!!

(I have other commentaries but dont get on with their unstructured approach.)

Edited by ukfraser
  • Like 1

Actually really depends and will compare few whilst reading a passage to compare for that book  

In general I like the NIGTC for being helpful if the Greek is a bit tricky and the Wisdom commentary for a fresh and challenging perspective.

For the Tanakh - I like IECOT - but it is very limited in books available.

For a more comprehensive range which covers most books  I will often start with Hermeneia -

(though to be honest a little of my personal preference is determined by whether the commentary transliterates or uses Hebrew/Greek/Aramaic script - personally, I find commentaries with the transliterated text a bit irritating an more difficult to use) 

and I will often use others if they are better for that passage/book.