Searching Hebrew verb - specific stem

Henk de Waard

Hi all,

Please accept my apologies if this is a stupid question; I'm still quite new to Accordance.

I've now had the same problem a number of times: when I search for a Hebrew verb in a specific stem, Accordance tells me that there are no results, even though I know for sure that the verb does occur in the relevant stem. See, e.g., the picture I've attached: Accordance cannot find the verb YNQ in the hifil stem, while this verb does occur in the Hebrew Bible in the hifil, as can be seen from Lam. 4:3, displayed in the picture.

No doubt, I'm doing something wrong--but what? Could someone please give me advice? Many thanks in advance!

Kind regards,

Henk de Waard

YNQ hifil.jpg

Hi @Henk de Waard

This does not really solve your problem, but I have noticed something similar to this too. I was in the Hebrew text and wanted to see all the results of a word as it appeared exactly in a verse, so I searched the inflected form and Accordance said there were no results, which is obviously not true since I had just seen it. So I am interested in the answer to this too. :)

On a side note, since you are new I would just like to mention that if you follow the thread (top right) you will be notified when people reply, while if you do not follow it you will not be notified unless someone tags your name. (I don't know if there is an exception if you start the thread, there may be).

Kristin

Hi Henk,

Your search is looking for ינף followed by a verb in the hifil. What you need is to apply both criteria to the word. So search for : ינק@ [verb hifil]  and then you will see you Lam example and several others.

Thx

D

Hi @Λύχνις Δαν,