Textual variance database?

Larry Wing

I lately have become interested in NT textual criticism to a minor degree. I'd like to see if there is anything in Accordance where I could select verse or word in a Greek text and see a list of all variances and their manuscripts. I assume some of those variants could be different based on my Greek text at the moment.

One thing I'm particularly interested in is when I see "some older mss do not contain..." or :some new mss add..." in my printed Bible and would like to explore for more detail.

I have very little Greek background and this is more a hobby than anything else probably so something basic as a starter would be great.

If you have the NA28 or UBS5 with Sigla, you can use Omanson's Text Guide or Metzger's Textual Commentary or Comfort text commentary.

• Like 2

To complement NA 28, a good option is the CNTSS apparatus, though I must say it contains some mistakes.

https://www.accordancebible.com/product/cntts-nt-critical-apparatus-3/

What's nice about this one is you don't need to learn to read the sigla. Every entry begins with the base text so you know which word is being discussed:

image.thumb.png.4ac25ddb23f0470d9383a651523ef211.png

Edited by Accordance Enthusiast
  • Like 1

Comfort's Commentary and Metzger's are the two that's going to get your feet wet with Textual Variants. Start with those.

I'd then look at UBS or NA Apparatus, and if you want the mother of all apparatus modules, go for the CNTTS.

Thank you all for your help  I've ordered the Metzger and Comfort commentaries.  I'll see how it goes as far as ordering the  CNTTS.

3 hours ago, Larry Wing said:

Thank you all for your help  I've ordered the Metzger and Comfort commentaries.  I'll see how it goes as far as ordering the  CNTTS.