Question in Regards to Searching for Substantival Adjectives

Johannian

Hello there! I’m a third-year student of the Koine Greek language, and I thought it would be helpful if Accordance could search for all instances of substantival adjectives in the Greek NT (and it would be great if it could also search and identify attributives as well as predicates). The module I’m using is the Greek NT (Tagged). I did some searching on my own to see if Accordance has that capability, but it looks like I have to bother you guys for the answer. I’d be most obliged if you could tell me whether or not Accordance has this particular capability.

In addition to this, I was wondering if Accordance was able to give me all instances in the Greek NT of adjectives which agree with the noun they modify in a certain case and/or gender and/or number. Of course, I realize this would be a very impressive feature, but with how powerful Accordance is, I didn’t rule it out.

Thanks!

Edited by Johannian

Hmm... those are kind of complicated requests considering how Greek works and how you would go about trying to find such things.

First, you do need the Greek Syntax module.

Let me go to you second question. By definition, an adjective has to agree in gender, number, and case with the noun. (But not just nouns, any substantive: substantive participles, substantive participle phrases...) You can find most of these with a construct search like this and enabling search in both directions:

image.png.0d7b9cd7c8ad3fb8bebb8c7257d7d5c4.png

You might still have to play around with the depth and the WITHIN range to expand or contract your results. The results will include adjectives in either predicate or attributive position, predicate adjectives, and perhaps some substantival adjectives. (I would have to add things like participles and substantival infinitive clauses under the noun column to pick up more results.)