Potential Bug in HITS command? Or user error?

Norman Meyer

Short Background: I'm relatively new to Accordance searching. I've watched several videos and read quite a few of the help articles. I'm trying to construct a more complex search, but I'm starting with sub-queries that I hope to eventually group together to get the results desired. The query below may seem very sophomoric, but I'm just trying to understand the software and I'm getting very unexpected results.

The Query: I am doing a simple Greek construct search in which I place a clause at the top of the first column. It's attributes are: independent clause, any clause type, ignore speech, default depth to infinity, and I check both "allow hits within sub-clauses" and "show hit antecedent or elision" (I'll provide screen shots below). I'm using the GNT28-T. Then below the clause block I put a lexeme block and have it search for the greek word “εἰ" (i.e. if, whether). I do the search and get 506 hits in 455 verses. The analysis window has some interesting results:

Note that the first analysis tab shown below is for the search described below. The tab to the right has the analysis from the search described above.

Screenshot2023-10-17at11_30_19AM.thumb.jpg.36dd29e517959189d9a0effac5c3a7da.jpg

why are there other lexemes beside εἰ included in the results? I did a little investigation as to why this might be myself. I provide screenshots of 4 examples below, but it seems that if "εἰ" follows a null (i.e. "—") item (e.g. an implied subject) and that null item is associated with another lexeme (pictorially it shows an arc on the syntax diagram), then that lexeme is included in the results. This must be a bug, correct? I'm under the impression that Accordance 14 has some stability issues; is it possible that Accordance 13 wouldn't present this bug? Or am I misunderstanding something and this is not a bug?