Import User Tool ends up in Chinese

Larry Wing

I thought I'd play around with importing a pdf of some Bible study notes to a commentary user tool. I've never tried this before.

I exported the docx file to pdf and looked at it in English in Preview and then went through steps to import but all of it is in Chinese. I don't know Chinese and so don't know where it came from.  Any ideas?

MacBook Pro Intel Ventura and Accordance 14.0.7

• Confused 1

I also have had Chinese input into my stacks. I always have to delete them and even that does not always work!

Bob

Do you have the file that caused this? I can test it.

I guess the PDF. You might be able to attach it here unless it's something you can't share publicly, then you're welcome to DM it.

I have more than the Chinese showing up so I must be doing something wrong. Any help is appreciated.

1. Using Google translate reveals that the Chinese is not my text translated and has nothing to do with my pdf

2. I've found that all the Chinese relate back to my software, Softmaker TextMaker 2024.  

3. Switching to LibreOffice I don't have Chinese displayed in Accordance but pretty much nothing else instead.  No matter how I format the docx in LibreOffice for pdf export the Accordance import shows [pg1] [pg2] etc. No text at all.

4. Regarding LibreOffice, I must have the doc formatted incorrectly? I've tried with all default paragraph format as well as some with Heading and Subtitle.

One more thing re Softmaker TextMaker 2024. I just tried again but specified no embedded fonts but it still came up Chinese.

Edited by Larry Wing

If you can share the doc, we can take a look. I wonder if it's an issue with the way LibreOffice is handling it.

Sure thing! DM or email will be fine.

Sorry, I can't figure out how to attach file in message.  Is it possible?

Hi @Larry Wing,