Searching for a verse in a resource.

Jesse Dornfeld

I just upgraded to Accordance 14.

I am almost positive there is a way to search for a verse in a resource.

I want to search for a specific verse or set of verses in a specific document. I want to do this by amplifying. I am new to amplifying, one of the great things about accordance, but have gotten great value out of what I have done with it. If someone could simply tell me what tutorial to look up, that would work, but I don't know where to start and I have had Accordance crash on me when trying to do tutorials.

Specifically, I would like to search verses such as Matthew 13:11; Mark 4:11; Romans 16:25;  1 Corinthians 2:7, 15:51; Ephesians 3:3-4; Colossians 1:26, 27; 1 Timothy 3:16; Revelation 10:7 (and more like it) in my Schaff's Church History. I want to know how the ECF viewed things regarding the "mystery made known to us [apostles and prophets]" which is littered throughout the NT. The idea is that authority was given to people based on the revelation they received from God. As such, this is the mark of an apostle, which I think is a title (and perhaps not the same as an office in church government) that continues today (though not in the same sense as "the 12").

Elsewise, if anyone knows of any resources that would be beneficial in my pursuit of learning more about "authority given based on the degree of revelation" that would also be most helpful.

Edited by Jesse Dornfeld

For starters, I would do a search like this: apostle* <AND> myster* , making sure that you have the range set to "paragraph" and not "article," the latter giving you over a thousand results to sift through. Searching by Scripture passage might not be precise enough, as allusions to Scripture are not always picked up in ECF.

You could also try apostle* <AND> prophet* <AND> myster*, but that will also orient you towards results that talk mostly about OT prophets, so it might be less helpful.

Edited by Donald Cobb
  • Like 1