searching for question mark (;) in Greek

Jonna L Schmidt

I am studying Greek, and my teacher is making the point that: when a question begins with μη: the expected answer is 'NO'

BUT IN CONTRAST: when a question begins with ου: the expected answer is 'YES'

SO, to help get some practice, I wanted to do a search (using the FIELD command) which ends with a question mark.  (NOTE: I realize that the question mark is different in Greek and English).

SO: in an English text, one just types .? -- and you are "good to go".  I can not get this work in the Greek texts.

NOTE: I think that I did a proper work around (that is one of the great things about Accordance): one way or another, one can get to the goal, but it was a bit clunky. I first did a search with the NASB-95, limiting my range to the New Testament. 

THEN: I did a search in which the sentence begins with με.

Then I did a "CONTENTS search" -- so I think that I have a good result, but I was wondering.... is there a way (using the Greek text) to search for questions (or other punctuation)?

negative answer with me.accord

Remember that in Greek, a question mark is a semicolon, so for a Greek text use    .;

Though it will return quite a few false hits, to find questions starting with μη, you can use     μη <AND> <FOLLOWED BY> .;

The best way is to use a construct search if you have the syntax module.

image.png.dce720b01c603a72bbc2687814c1000c.png

• Like 3

Thanks -- I always dread these construct searches, but i will give that I try. 

I can see how (in this situation): the construct search would be more accurate

• 2 weeks later...