Question regarding purchases

Luckylou1980

I’ve been using bible software for about two years , and I must admit that I thought it would never take the place of my physical books. At this point I’m really loving it. My question is when one makes a purchase is the content for the purchaser or is it like purchasing to use? The reason I ask is I was wondering if a company goes out of business could one still use the items that was purchased?

I've never seen any licencing statements at Accordance. What they do post is "you already own this" to prevent duplicate purchase. For application software, it's always license to use, not own.

• Thanks 1

I don't know the answer to the legal technicalities, but I purchased on the basis that I have perpetual access to the resources I paid for.

From a technical perspective, however, the answer is that it's somewhat fragile. It depends on what functionality resides on the company's servers.

If you downloaded everything you bought, you'd be able to keep accessing your material so long as the system stays up. But if the platform requires a back-to-base check every so often, then if the 'base' goes away, you're shut out of the platform and hence your material.

Likewise, if you use integration features that link through the company's servers to get to your material (e.g. URL locations, linking through accordance.bible), then if the server goes away, your links will no longer work.

In the event that a platform goes under, it would be a good idea for users to band together to keep the servers going, and to collectively pay programmers to produce a fully stand-alone copy of the software. That, or hope for another platform to offer a migration path.