Lost Notes

Gary Monks

Hello everyone.

Can anyone please help me?

While working in my Notes library ........Accordance crashed , and deleted two note files . As I write Accordance is randomly updating , I  cannot close the windows , even the 'STOP' window.

There were literally hours of work on those notes ...........is there any way to recover them??

I'm sorry for the loss, and I'm new to Accordance. Version 14 has so many non-functional features that I returned to version 13. I'm prepared to wait until Spring or Summer to try it out again. The good thing is when uninstalling v14, they ask if you want to retain all content. When v13 was installed it looked like nothing changed, all texts were open in the last used spot.

2 hours ago, Gary Monks said:

While working in my Notes library ........Accordance crashed , and deleted two note files . As I write Accordance is randomly updating , I  cannot close the windows , even the 'STOP' window.

@Gary: Shut down Accordance via Task Manager (Right-click on Status Bar or press CTRL-ALT-DEL). In Task Manager, select 'Accordance Bible Study Software' and press End Task.

Restart computer. (optional, to reset Windows system files)

Restart Accordance in Accordance Safe Mode (After clicking on Accordance icon, press and hold down Windows ALT key.)

Go into Edit/Preferences and turn off automatic updates. 

Close Accordance and try restarting in normal mode.

This won't recover lost notes, but it should stop recurring updates.

There was a problem in v.14 with User Notes. I don't know if this has been resolved yet. 

Edited by Gordon Lyons

1 hour ago, Gordon Lyons said:

@Gary: Shut down Accordance via Task Manager (Right-click on Status Bar or press CTRL-ALT-DEL). In Task Manager, select 'Accordance Bible Study Software' and press End Task.

Restart computer. (optional, to reset Windows system files)

Restart Accordance in Accordance Safe Mode (After clicking on Accordance icon, press and hold down Windows ALT key.)