How to analyze Hebrew lexemes from two different passages

wallacemj7

I am an Accordance newbie, but am looking for help with a rather complicated task. I am a ThM student and am writing my thesis primarily on Genesis 2-3 and Exodus 3-4. I want to do a lexeme analysis to determine if there is any interesting Hebrew overlap that I'm not currently seeing. Can anyone help me figure out if Accordance can do this type of analysis? Thank you!

Hi @wallacemj7, welcome! You should read the ETS paper by Robert Marineau. He presented on this type of research using Accordance. (If I recall correctly, he also posted quite a bit on this topic during that time period as well which may be of additional help.) Here is a link to his paper.

• Like 1

Hi @wallacemj7,

I have not read the paper which @darrylmy mentioned, so maybe this is already addressed there, but I just wanted to mention that I think you can do what you are describing using the INFER command. I am not an expert on that command, so I can't really clarify how to do it specifically, but I would look into that.

Here is the results for "infer" but also, if you go to the "Help" in Accordance, you can search for it there.

http://accordancefiles2.com/helpfiles/OSX13/Default.htm#topics/06_braa/infer_6.htm?Highlight=infer

Kristin

• Like 1

Thank you both for your suggestions. While INFER is certainly helpful, as far as I can tell, that action performs a broad search of the whole HB corpus to determine if there are any parallels. I am particularly seeking to compare and find parallels between two predetermined passages (Gen 2-3, Exo 3-4). Even looking at the article and the website above, I cannot find a way to make that happen. Does anyone else have ideas? Thanks!

If I'm understanding you correctly, the INFER command should allow you to accomplish this. Follow these steps:

First, open the HB in a tab. Do a verse search for Genesis 2-3.