How to use the "Papers" applet within Accordance 13

chaplanger

I am a newbie with Accordance and I am so confused re. the "Papers" tool / tab in Accordance 13. I am using Accordance on a Windows machine running Windows 10 (latest drop).

There are no tutorials on how to actually use this function.

How do I open a blank document and simply start typing and creating? I can open a pre-created outline or a supposedly blank sheet, but then I am met with: "Add new item" and "Add new text item"

When I click on "Add new item" "Papers" creates an outline format beginning with "I. Heading" and beneath is a box labeled "contents." While I can backspace to get rid of most of this, the "I." from the heading stubbornly persists... very frustrating.

When I click on "Add new Text Item" A box with the label "text' opens. If I simply start typing in this box - the word text remains (sometimes captured within the first word I am typing).

Suppose I want a blank document that lets me place a Title and Scripture reference first... you know, like in a sermon document? 

And suppose I never want "Papers" to create headings for me... just let me write my message and insert references and create my own headings when and if I see fit.

I can't find any help files, tutorials, or videos that directly address this. Please note I am not interested in a sermon prep video, or 1 hr. plus webinar that describes all the steps in sermon prep and how accordance can be utilized for this. I simply want a direct instructional "something" that takes a beginner in Accordance through the steps of making “Papers” a useful tool.

Does anyone here, actually create sermons or messages within "Papers" or do you do this with an outside word processor and then just cut/paste, and drop the completed document into "Papers" to have it within Accordance?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

Evening!