What is a Hebrew Letters search?

Iconoclaste

What is a Hebrew Letters search? I think I understand what it is, and what its purpose is, but I cannot find any documentation on it in the Accordance Help. I did a google search of the Accordance website, but did not find anything. 

• 3 weeks later...

I am new to Accordace. I want to search the Hebrew Tanach for all words with a mappiq heh (a final heh with a dot/dagesh in the center). For example, the hebrew word halleluyah.

Even a list of all words with a dotted heh in any position would work as I doubt there are too many. But I cannot figure out how to search for the dotted heh.

Is this possible with Accordace?

Yes. In a text tab with the search text set to a module of the Tanakh (either “Hebrew Bible Tagged” or “Biblica Hebraica Stuttgartensia Tagged”), set the search option to “Words”.

1) Type in a quotation mark "

2) Type in the equal symbol =

3) Type in the asterisk symbol *

4) Type in the letter heh ה

5) Hit the semi-colon (I presume you are using the standard English US keyboard) on your keyboard to type in the dagesh/mappiq/shuruq symbol.

6) Type in another quotation mark "

7) Hit return and enjoy.

NB Although they are technically all different vowel points, Accordance treats the dagesh, the mappiq, and the shuruq as the same symbol, since it is only the usage, not the location or shape of the dot that makes any difference between one symbol and the other. 

• Like 1

Also, ssilver31, I don't know how knowledgable you are in the Hebrew of the Tanakh, but do you have any idea why there is a mappiq apparently on the word אֱעֱשֶׂהּ–לּוֹ in Genesis 2:18?

Thank you so much. That worked.

I would love to hear the reason for the dot in the Lamed.

Also, how would I take the word search for the mappiq heh and make a count of each individual word?

Because Accordance tags words and affixes as separate words, you'd have do two searches.