Decomposed Greek forms in Accordance 13.1

PakBell

Accordance 13.1 Release Notes: Importing/Exporting Content Improvements:

"Changed the export of Greek and Hebrew to unicode to be fully decomposed, rather than electing to use Extended Greek (U+1F00…) or Presentation Hebrew (U+FB20…) forms. This is due to an incompatibility with Nota Bene."

Whoa! That's a pretty significant change. I've been using Unicode since 2003, at that time going through the painstaking process of converting my old ASCII Word files into Mellel unicode files. I have many, many hundreds of files, all using composed Greek forms, i.e. the Greek Extended block U+1Fxx. My Greek keyboard renders composed forms. My raw GNT files are in composed forms. I'm not too happy about now mixing in decomposed forms whenever I copy+paste from Accordance (which is nearly every day). Several of my fonts which render composed Greek forms just fine do not render decomposed forms at all well. And all this just to provide compatibility with Nota Bene. Could this "Export Greek as fully decomposed" not be made optional, set in Preferences? I don't consider this an improvement.

• Like 1

We can consider making the change optional.  However, according to the Unicode consortium:

Q: Can one use the presentation forms in a data file?

A: Use of presentation forms is not recommended because it does not guarantee data integrity and interoperability. In the particular case of Arabic, data files should include only the characters in the main Arabic block (U+0600..U+06FF) and Arabic supplement blocks (U+0750..U+07FF, U+08A0..U+08FF), rather than the presentation form blocks.