Advice for teaching online

Douglas Fyfe

Hi all

I'm trying to crowdsource some advice for how to teach online in this new era. While I do demonstrate Accordance software (in my spare time), I am not a technology expert by any stretch of the imagination (I often say that I know enough to break a computer but not enough to fix it). The rest of the time I am a pastor and do a bit of Hebrew tutoring and marking.

So with that in mind, it would be nice if I could do the following:

1. Show my face and talk to people
  2. Show Accordance (including dialogue boxes)
  3. Show PowerPoint slides
  4. Distribute handouts

I'm pretty sure I can do the first and the last with google hangouts, and I can do the first alone with pretty much every app available, but is anyone able to point me in the right direction?

Hopefully any responses will be a resource to others too.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Douglas Fyfe

Check these two links out:

https://wiki.visionscreens.au.eu.org/doku.php?id=livestreaming_churches&fbclid=IwAR2lkE6zuX6ITrUNEAn4rLqqpNovvhetWnUlj7L8GcucOudAfUfO2V5ARL4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNcIFnx67ys&feature=youtu.be&fbclid=IwAR2dlx2CNp2__P0GDtEm4RjYctuSIVshGf6H-Pps921lXXNwy4tmkR5DYBU

Of course one really simple way to do Accordance/Powerpoint presentations on screen is to give you talk with a big screen monitor in frame.

Otherwise you are looking into a webinar type platform.

• Like 1

Thanks Mike. I do love that photo of the guy in his shorts! And yep, fb live is what we've been doing the last two weeks.

The question is if we move to complete remote (i.e. from home, and no camera/phone operator), then it's the webinar things I'm going to need to learn about - the switching between inputs - PC camera and monitor.

For me the big question is why do you want to show your face?