Jump to content

Odd addition on Mac Login Screen


R. Mansfield
 Share

Recommended Posts

I'm hoping some of you might recognize this and tell me what to do or if I need to fix it. 

 

A few weeks ago, I needed to wipe and restore my MacBook. When I did, in addition to my login account, there's a second option that simply says "Disk Password." It was not there before, and I've never seen it before. 

 

Anyone know what this is and whether I need to do anything about it? 

 

See attached.

 

IMG_0041.JPG

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1) Where's your nearest Apple store & genius bar?

2) Did you ever password protect the firmware?

3) Can you log in to your normal account?

4) Where's your nearest Apple store & genius bar?


5) Did you do a full, clean install?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I could go to the local Apple Store, but I thought I'd check in here first to see if anyone knew off the top of his or her head what this is. If no one knows, I'll post to the Apple support forums before I take it into a store. 

 

It's not causing any problems and I can log in just fine. I do have the drive encrypted, but had it encrypted before, too, so I don't know why the icon would suddenly show up. 

 

To answer your last question, I wiped the drive and restored from a Time Machine backup. But again, the drive icon wasn't there before. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Rick, it looks like disk encryption support. I don't have it turned on my Mac but I use something similar on one of my PCs. Do you actually have to enter a password to get to your data or can you just log in normally and work ? Is FileVault turned on ? What version of OSX is it ? There are posts about FileVault not proxying creds through properly leading to multiple logons : something like this https://www.macissues.com/2015/03/31/fix-double-login-prompts-on-your-mac/

 

Thx

D

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I do have the drive encrypted and FileVault is turned on. But this was the case before, too. This showed up in El Capitan, and it's still present in Sierra. I do have to log in before I can see my desktop, but it's always been that way. 

 

It's not a huge deal and has not cause any issues so far that I know of. I happened to think about it today while grabbing a late lunch and thought I'd post here to see if anyone knows.

 

I plan on replacing this MacBook as soon as the new MacBook Pros are released, hopefully in October. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If it was me I would try running Onyx and maybe do another install of the OS. Then maybe a more selective restoration of data from your backup, not just letting it do its thing in one fell swoop. I suspect that you have your new clean User account and your old (still encrypted) User account alongside.

 

I've only just today decided to give up on TimeMachine and go back to using CarbonCopyCloner to do backups. I think that any backup method you just set up and forget about is bound to go wrong when you need it. I prefer to do deliberate manual backups to multiple external drives. I have a 3TB HDD and a 3TB external HDD for backup, and TimeMachine was constantly telling me (after 40 minutes of thinking about it) that I had no room for further backups. What happened to TimeMachine's touted ability to delete older backups as the target disk fills up? Meh. And it takes forever. Anyway goodbye TimeMachine and hello again CCC.

Edited by Alistair
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Rick,

 

I think this showed up with El Capitan so that if you had multiple users on a machine you could have a separate disk password for FileVault protections.  The message boards have a lot of queries related to this and the consistent item is having file vault encryption turned on.  

 

Mike

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think this showed up with El Capitan so that if you had multiple users on a machine you could have a separate disk password for FileVault protections.  The message boards have a lot of queries related to this and the consistent item is having file vault encryption turned on.  

 

That may be it. I was thinking it showed up when I restored the machine, but maybe it was soon after because I did set up a separate account (now deleted) for Accordance testing purposes. So, I guess this doesn't harm anything? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

None of the boards I read mentioned any issues, beyond curiosity, when it started happening. 

Edited by Mike Thigpen
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...