Translation summary analytics for MT-LXX parallel

Susan

I have been working with Tony Pyles' very helpful instructions and workspace described on this thread for using the MT-LXX interlinear module to analyze Greek-Hebrew correspondence between the MT and LXX using merged searches. From what I gather, there is currently no way to generate a summary table showing how a particular Greek or Hebrew term is translated. (It is hinted there that this may be available in BW, although I have no personal knowledge of that.) Is there any chance we’ll be able to do this in the future? 

(Currently the analytics that show up in an a MT-LXX tab merged to a search in one of the texts only show me the hits per book, nothing about the way the word is translated. If I merge it with lemma searches in both texts I can limit the hits to a particular correspondence, but this is a different from being able to see the variety of correspondences summarized. Please do let me know if there’s already a way to do this that I’m missing. Thanks!)

• Like 3

Hah!

Susan, your request is timely.

I am working on a podcast for the [MERGE ?] command, which uses the MT/LXX database. I noticed the very same thing. I would have really liked an Analysis pane. My own search was Hebrew אדני in the source pane and Greek [MERGE MT-LXX Parallel 3] <NOT> (κυριε, κυριος) in the target pane. I wondered what the other Greek equivalents the LXX used were. Right now, there is no way to list them automatically.

I'll second this request.

Edited by Timothy Jenney
  • Like 1

+1

I am working on a podcast for the [MERGE ?] command, which uses the MT/LXX database. I noticed the very same thing. I would have really liked an Analysis pane. My own search was Hebrew אדני in the source pane and Greek [MERGE MT-LXX Parallel 3] <NOT> (κυριε, κυριος) in the target pane. I wondered what the other Greek equivalents the LXX used were. Right now, there is no way to list them automatically.

I'll second this request.