Recommended Accordance to a Friend, but...

William Cross

I have been using Accordance for the past ten years. I love it. I think you have an amazing program and I continue to invest in resources for it every year.

That said, I was very quick to tell my young friend who was switching to the Mac to get Accordance. I went on and on about it and he now owns Accordance with a plethora of modules.

He lives a good distance from me (a number of states away) and I recently talked with him on the phone. He brought up Accordance and to my surprise was struggling to use it. How could this be I declared it is simply awesome!

He proceeded to tell me that the program is just over whelming to him and that the interface is not so Mac like since most Mac programs now are much more clear with the User Interface as to what to do. He said that since he is just a passive user not preaching or teaching regularly he was not in front of the program enough to remember all of the stuff. I encouraged him to watch the tutorials, but he had. It was just to much time in between uses to remember all of the key commands and unique interface stuff. He said he understands that the search bar is the main feature touted for Accordance, but he thought the commands and language for doing searches was not standard or clear enough.

As we talked more I got the feeling from him that he sees Accordance like a young artist sees a blank canvas, intimidating. He is used to a canvas that already has a sketch laid down and numbers in each area telling you where to paint and what color to use.

I encouraged him to keep at it and maybe we could set up a screen share at some point to show him a few things.

I just thought the Accordance team might like to hear this type of perspective. Since he will not be using Accordance in a daily of even weekly way, should I have encouraged him to get a simpler, more basic program?

• Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am interested in the responses of other users.