highlight exporting in tools

Mike Atnip

I am new to Accordance and like many of its features. But I must say that I was disappointed to find that after highlighting text in a tool that I could not export my highlights as notes, like can be done with other software. I would assume that since other software has this option that it would be easy, but I am not a code writer. 🙂 Is this something that will be coming to Accordance in future releases possibly? Thanks, Mike

@mikeatnip

Good question.

It looks like the way Accordance does this is to do a search on the style, then do whatever you like with the resulting set of verses. See <https://www.accordancebible.com/finding-your-highlights/>.

To search on a style, put [style xyz] in the search bar, where "xyz" is the name of the style (e.g. the default "important", or the names of the Symbol highlights, such as "Mountain").

Accordance started off as a Mac application, and this is a very 'Mac' way of doing things - instead of having a separate set of processes and files for highlighting, the developers find and reuse an existing process. It might take some work to figure out what process they've reused, but this approach helps keep the number of things to remember down and increases the value of each process. For example, you can easily combine style, range and word searches: "[style Mountain] [range Matthew-John] olives".

• Like 1