Bugs in Accordance 14

Silas Marrs

I thought I would take a minute away from trying to fix v14 bugs to take the blame for them.

I've been a programmer with Accordance since 2017, and I started heading up the programming team when Joel took a job in the aerospace industry last year.  Some of you will remember about when that was, because we haven't really had enough programmers for any of us to spend much time on the forums since then.

I think the largest source of bugs in the v14 release were due to last-minute changes I made, mostly without much consultation with anyone else. 

First, I couldn't face our windows users if we'd had another major release without any sort of dark mode.  We'd put off for years because we knew it'd be a nightmare.  I also decided to make dark mode work without having to restart the app while I was at it.  This seems to have introduced a plethora of bugs related to text style settings, and I think I have found and fixed the most egregious of those for the next release.

Second, I made a last minute decision to totally rewrite the file formats for the new phrasing feature, which likely introduced many of the bugs you're seeing in that feature.  My reason for doing this relates to a recent set of complaints on the forum about how opaque some of our existing filetypes are, which I totally agreed with.  The feature was originally designed with a file format similar to what we use for highlights, which has shown itself to be susceptible to corruption. I converted it to use simple JSON files, which is a format most programmers will be familiar with, and can be understood by a human with a text editor.  In the long term, my plan is to do something similar with user notes and highlights, and maybe the other user file types.