i want to find all the periphrastic clauses in the GNT

Jonna

Greetings

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

I absolutely do NOT expect any sort of response for at least a few days!!!  I am studying 2nd semester Basic of Biblical Greek, and we are using Dr. Mounce's 4th edition. We are delving into periphrastic phrases. So: i wanted to put my Accordance modules -- and my very beginning Greek -- to good use!  SO: I did a construct search

NOTE: my professor uses Accordance, and I have emailed him for help. BUT THAT said: I wanted to point out that: there are some forum comments from about 8 or 9 years ago in which they do NOT use a construct search. The reasoning is that: this is not needed because the Greek form EIMI and the related verb need to be IMMEDIATELY together. My Greek prof tells me: that is NOT correct, and that is why I went to a construct search. As I wrote to my professor: 

SO: thanks to you: I knew: I needed to take another ‘approach’. SO: I did my best to “brush up” on construction searches; and my sample is listed below. HOWEVER: I know that something is WRONG!!! I am only getting #26 hits — and from what you said: there ought to be more!!! My reasoning: if there were barely 25 periphrastic clauses in the GNT: I know that you would NOT have spent most of our lecture on this issue. 

SO: clearly: I am doing something wrong!!! BUT: you mentioned that you use Accordance, so I hope that you might be able to help me refine my search so that: I can find ALL the periphrastic participles in the GNT. NOTE: my search criteria must be wrong because it does even include John 1:9!!!

Have a blessed thanksgiving!!!

SO: any suggestions so that I can resolve this issue. THANK YOU and have a blessed THANKSGIVING!!

greek grammar periphrastic.accord

ειμι <FOLLOWED BY> <WITHIN 1 Words> [VERB participle] scope=verse - finds 264 instances, but I could not duplicate with construct

Hi Jonna,