Zinor and Zarqa Accents

Bielikov

Keep in mind that I am a complete beginner and it is just as likely that I am doing something wrong. I did a search on Remote Prince Segolta accents and the Dr. Fuller rule about Segolta having a near subordinate of Zarqa and remote subordinate of Rebia seems instead to show a Zinor instead of Zarga almost every time in Isaiah. I'm not sure, once again, if this is a true error in Accordance or simply something I am doing incorrectly. See Isaiah 16:14, 18:2; 20:2; 27:13; 29:8; 29:11; 44:19; 50:2; 51:13; and finally 53:12. There are about four more instances but these are missing the Rebia. Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks, Gregorio

• 2 weeks later...

שָׁלוֹם לְךָ 
I was blessed to learn about the importance of the accents from that same session! I have been reading through the end of Drs. Fuller & Choi's Syntax to learn about the accents. I am just getting to the dukes right now.
From what I can see from Accordance's Characters palette, the sinnorit symbol and the zarqa symbol are the same. The only difference between the two is their placement relative to the word. The zarqa is always post-positive (to the left of its word, regardless of which syllable receives the stress), whereas the sinnorit is over the stressed syllable. Also, the latter is used for the poetic books (mostly), whereas the zarqa is used for the rest of the Tanakh.

I did a search for the zarqa, and it brought up the verses you listed in Isaiah. So, I don't understand what the problem is. Can you re-state the issue?

• 1 month later...

I agree with most of what @Iconoclaste says above. I can't speak to the particular behaviors of search in Accordance, but here's my summary of the terminology. Terminology for accents is sometimes confusing or even contradictory, but in my communities and my references:

• Zarqa is a post-positive accent only appearing in the 21 books.