Jump to content

names of Tools


Kristin
 Share

Recommended Posts

I have a question concerning the name of tools, and I am not sure if I should be posting this in General or Tech Support. In any case, I have a tool which is really disorganized. I am exporting the information to a Numbers doc to preserve it, but I am also organizing it at the same time.

 

As I am doing this, I am realizing the tool is so disorganized that I would be better off just deleting it and re-importing the information in a better fashion. However, I like the name of the Tool.

 

If I delete the Tool and then recreate a Tool with the same name, will that cause issues? I have run into experiences where I have accidentally created two Notes with the same name, and that HAS been a headache, so I just wanted to make sure that if I delete the Tool first it won't be an issue to call something else by the same name.

 

I could theoretically just open the tool, select all, delete, and type over it, but from the tiny bit about computers that I know, I think that file would then be larger than if I just started from a new Tool, as each edit adds bits or something.

 

Thank you for any advice anyone has.

 

Kristin

Link to comment
Share on other sites

To completely remove a tool in  Accordance:

  1. Open the Library and find the tool.
  2. With the tool highlighted, right click and choose "Remove Item".
  3.  In the pop-up, select Move to Trash. 
  4. Empty the Trash Can

It will be gone from the hard drive, but will still be on any backup drives or Apple Time Machine images. ;)

 

—Joseph

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, Solly said:

It will be gone from the hard drive, but will still be on any backup drives or Apple Time Machine images. ;)

 

—Joseph

 

Hi Joseph,
Thank you for your response. I know how to remove a tool, and I agree with your detailed instructions. :)Given what you said about it being in backups and such, it sounds like you think it is a bad idea to name a new tool the same name. Is that correct?

 

I have successfully removed tools before, but I have never tried to name a new tool the same thing as an old deleted Tool. So once I remove the tool, can I name a totally new tool the same name as the deleted tool? Or will that confuse the Accordance program?

 

Thank you for any thoughts you have,

Kristin

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If backups, etc. still have a copy, give the new file a new name like filename_ver_2021_9_14 or such to uniquely identify it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi @Solly,

Ok, thanks for your thoughts, and I will go ahead and just create a new name to play it safe.

Take care,

Kristin

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hello @Kristin

Lastly Silas made an improvement for the User Tool names. It shouldn't be a problem with two identical User Tool names. As Accordance now automatic set a number if it finds an existing User Tool with the same name. 

 

Fabian

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Good information to know, Fabian!

 

Thanks,

—Joseph

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...