Change notation to John 3.16 (as well as 3:16 / 3,16)

Andrew Patterson

Howdy! I'm fairly new to Accordance and I absolutely am loving it! One of my favorite parts is how well it integrates with my current usage of Biblical notation...with one exception (one thing you lack!): My typical notation is "Gen 1.26" rather than the more common (American) "Gen 1:26" or the European "Gen 1,26". Both of the latter are available as displayable notations; the searches and hyperlinks accept all three.

Would it be possible to add in a setting to switch to this style notation (John 3.16) for display/copying as well?

Also, I'm curious if anyone else uses the period--instead of colon or comma--or if it's just me. Thanks, y'all!

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Andrew Patterson said:

Howdy! I'm fairly new to Accordance and I absolutely am loving it! One of my favorite parts is how well it integrates with my current usage of Biblical notation...with one exception (one thing you lack!): My typical notation is "Gen 1.26" rather than the more common (American) "Gen 1:26" or the European "Gen 1,26". Both of the latter are available as displayable notations; the searches and hyperlinks accept all three.

Would it be possible to add in a setting to switch to this style notation (John 3.16) for display/copying as well?

Also, I'm curious if anyone else uses the period--instead of colon or comma--or if it's just me. Thanks, y'all!

Similar requests have been made in the past. I would love to be able to change notation systems for copying references into Word, etc. documents. I'm constantly switching between the three in writing articles (in French, depending on the editors, it's either 3.16 or 3,16 !). So yes, please some way of personalizing preferences!

I use the comma. Because the period has another function. For example John 3,16.17.23. The period represents and "and". 

You can use a period for display and export.

Edit > Preferences > Text Display