Construct Search confusion

Kristin

I am pretty new to using this feature and am having some confusion about Construct Searches. My goal is to find ALL the instances in the ESV where מַלְאָךְ is NOT translated as "angel." Since I know you can only guarantee all the hits with the Hebrew, I did the search typing the Hebrew, then trying to say it does not match "angel" but the system complained that the words don't match. So I then tried it with the key number, but am having similar issues.

I know this is user error but I am just confused. I would appreciate clarification how to do this, hopefully using the Hebrew to make sure I get all the hits.

Thank you for your help and in case it is helpful (which it likely is not) here is a screenshot at my failed attempt.

Sincerely,
Kristin

Bildschirmfoto 2021-05-27 um 00.24.18.png

You're on the right track, but you'll need to use the "TEXT" column item to add the Hebrew word. In your current construct, Accordance is trying to find a Hebrew word in the ESVS, and since the ESVS only has English words, it fails immediately.

Also, both items will need to be placed in the same column, since you're looking for a single word that has two different criteria.

Note the asterisk after the word "angel." Without the asterisk (representing zero-to-infinite number of characters), you won't omit plural forms from your search.

Here's what you want: 1435729961_ScreenShot2021-05-27at7_29_59AM.thumb.png.23c2226a0798b4d2416c15711c90f035.png

Edited by Mark Allison
  • Like 2

BTW, you can perform this same search without using a Construct Search (though I think the Construct Search is easier once you understand how it works):

444430315_ScreenShot2021-05-27at7_38_54AM.thumb.png.3e89c8d8fa215901080729b155938944.png

• Like 1