Inscriptions Index ?.

jackyjoy123

Hello,

I know that the Inscriptions Index module relates to the Northwest Semitic Inscriptions (INSNWS).

But in that full Inscriptions package, there is also another set of inscriptions, in the INSCRIP module. I would like to know the provenance of some of these texts and wonder if anyone can recommend a source. I assume there's not a separate Accordance source like the index to the NW Semitic inscriptions?

I admit up front that I've never done any work with inscriptions before, but I'm beating the bushes for any background information that I can use in my dissertation. Having found a couple of interesting passages, I can't simply include them in my research without knowing what they are or where they came from.

thanks

jackyjoy

INSNWS: Notes on the Northwest Semitic Inscriptions

November 2004

Introduction

The Northwest Semitic Inscription module is a work in progress. This text is supervised by William M. Schniedewind and has relied heavily on graduate students at UCLA, including Robert Duke, Grace Park, Matthew Suriano, Roger Nam, and Moise Isaac. The current module includes all the major Northwest Semitic (NWS) inscriptions dating to the Iron Age (1200–586 BCE), and uses the numbering from the new edition by Herbert Donner and Wolfgang Röllig, Kanaanäische und Aramäische Inschriften, Volume 1 (Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, 2002) [=KAI].

Suggestions and Corrections can be e-mailed or sent regular mail to:

William Schniedewind <WilliamS@ucla.edu>

UCLA

Dept. of Near Eastern Languages & Cultures

Kinsey 376, MC 151105

Los Angeles, CA 90095–1511

Index to KAI Numbers, Names and Dates

In this Accordance module, the “book” name is a combination of the word “KAI” followed by the number listed below. Most inscriptions will have one “chapter,” but some inscriptions may have several parts represented by separate “chapters”. Each “verse” following the colon represents the line number of the inscription.