John Chrysostom - Against the Jews

TYA

I happened to need to look something up in John Chrysostom's "Against the Jews" (a.k.a. "Discourses Against Judaizing Christians (Adversus Judaeos [orationes 1–8])"), and I was a bit surprised that this wasn't included in the module "Church Fathers (Nicene & Post 1) (Philip Schaff)"

When checking in the Research Tab, I had over 100 hits to this "Against the Jews" by Chrysostom, and yet, again, the work isn't actually in Accordance.  Could someone explain why that is?  I'm not an expert on these early Christian writers--especially not such flattering titles as this one--but I'm sure someone here can explain why it's not included.

(Oh, and no one should mistake this as a formal request for such a work on my part :) )

Thanks, Steve.  That link seems to be for Hippolytus, not Chrysostom.  I do appreciate the answer though.

All the best.

Reading "reading scriptures with the fathers" it could be as simple as its not been translated into English. There are still a lot to be translated from other fathers but it looks like work has started on modernizing major texts as well as translating those not previously available.

i did find this link

https://sourcebooks.fordham.edu/source/chrysostom-jews6.asp

Edited by ukfraser

it could be as simple as its not been translated into English

Thanks, ukfraser.  Actually, it has been translated into English by at least two, if not three different people.  See the introduction here: http://www.tertullian.org/fathers/chrysostom_adversus_judaeos_00_eintro.htm

Edited by TYA

Sorry, thats me not being more precise.  not translated when schaff was collating his translations is what i was trying to hint at. 

The links you and i have found  appear to all post date schaff's work-by over 50 years. Philip Schaff (1819-1893) wrote one of the finest histories of the church available. His eight-volume work published in 1910 (apparently after his death).