Not consistent on where the test opens when using NIV notes

softecsolutions

I am very new to Accordance and I find it amazing.  One thing I noticed is that when I have a NOV open in one zone, with the NIV notes in another zone, sometimes when I click on a biblical reference in the NIV notes, it will open in a new zone, other times it will change the reference in the original zone where I had my text.  I would much prefer that it open the new zone, so that I do not lose my place in the original reading.  I don't know if this is a bug in the software, or in me.  :)

Welcome to Accordance!

If you don't want a tab to update, make sure the triangular recycle icon is off (gray) not blue.

Welcome to Accordance!

If you don't want a tab to update, make sure the triangular recycle icon is off (gray) not blue.

HI Helen.  Thank you for the welcome.  It is awesome software. 

The triangle is off. I can't seem to paste a screen snip here, but this is what's happening.  (bear with me)

I have the NIV (2011) with G/K Numbers in one zone.   I have Romans 16:13 open in this zone.

Then I have the NIV (2011) Notes in another zone. 

When I click on a link in the notes, say for Mark 15:21, it will open in a new zone.  That is great. 

But, if I click on 2 John 1, it will open in the first zone, what I originally had my text for Romans 16:13.  So then I lose my spot in that zone, and it also changes the context in the Notes zone, of course.  (I hope this makes sense.)

That is because the type of link in the notes is different.

The Mark 15:21 is a reference to a verse and will open a new pane with the bible reference

The 2 John 1 is not a reference as such but a link to that part of the Notes (hence the S before it). It is saying see 2 John 1 in the notes. Hence it takes you to that place in the Notes so that you can investigate the references there.