Unusable? Accordance 12 in Virtualbox 5.1.30

sallustius

Is anybody running Accordace 12 in Virtualbox? I find it unusable.

I have been using Accordance 9 for over ten years now, first on classic MacOS, then on various versions of the BasiliskII emulator under both Windows and Linux. I now upgraded to Accordance 12 which obviously does not run under the classic OS anymore. Since Accordance 12 does not run on wine I installed it within a Windows 10 virtual machine under  Virtualbox. It works, however unacceptably slow. It is impossible to scroll any text or even enter any characters. It takes tens of seconds to perform any action.

This is on a very fast PC within a Virtualbox that runs virtually any application, including Photoshop and QuarkXPress with large documents flawlessly, so it should not hang because of lacking computing power. Does anybody have any recommendations?

Sorry on which platform you want to run Accordance?

For Windows why you don't use the Windows native app? Accordance 12.2.2

For Linux maybe also the Win Version is better than the Mac one for Virtual box.

Greetings

Fabian

Edited by Fabian
  • Like 1

Sorry, my original post wasn't very clear. I want to run Accordance 12 on Windows 10 within Virtualbox under a Linux host system. Inexplicably, Accordance is very sluggish here – whereas any other application (Office, Indesign, Photoshop) has no problems. I know that Accordance 12 does not work with wine, which is fine. I am just wordering how Accordance could underperform even graphics-heavy applications in Virtualbox.

• 2 weeks later...

In case anybody has the same issue: I got around the problem by using the Windows 10 version of Accordance 12 in KVM/Qemu instead of VirtualBox. Here it is quite snappy.

• Like 1

Hi Sallustius,

Out of curiosity what Linux distro are you using ?

Thx

D

Hi,