VULG vs VULGATE

countach

Good question! I am no expert on the Vulgate, but I will give you the official information on the texts.

The VULG is our original module:

Biblia Sacra Iuxta Vulgatam (The Latin Vulgate)

Biblia Sacra Iuxta Vulgatam, 4th revised edition. Edited by Robert Weber.

Copyright

Interesting to post regarding the Latin Vulgate in the "Original Languages" forum.

The description on the web site seems to indicate that both VULG and VULGATE have alternative versions. Other than text, how are they different? The VULG seemed to mention a latin lexicon. is that unique to that one?

The Latin Dictionary comes only with the VULG on the Scholar's Collection, not the Studienbibel. The website description of the VULGATE was in error (copied from VULG). I have now corrected it. There is punctuation, there are no alternative texts.

The Vulgate is a very early translation, true not really an original language, but an important early witness as the LXX is to the Hebrew Bible, and so are the Targums and Peshitta.

Interesting to post regarding the Latin Vulgate in the "Original Languages" forum.

It's interesting, isn't it? The Latin Vulgate suggests that it is a translation in its very name. "Vulgate" means "common": it was for many centuries the translation that was commonly used in Latin speaking Western Europe.

In this it is very similar to the Peshitta for Eastern christianity: "Peshitta" means "common", too.

As Helen suggested, the Latin Vulgate is still important for text criticism. It is also important for canonical criticism, as it is a witness to the text that was considered canonical in Western Europe for many centuries.

I will add some notes to the excellent information that Helen already provided.

The VULG is our original module:

Biblia Sacra Iuxta Vulgatam (The Latin Vulgate)

Biblia Sacra Iuxta Vulgatam, 4th revised edition. Edited by Robert Weber.

Copyright

I will elaborate further on the VULGATE and VULG-N module: