Jump to content

Warning if upgrading from Windows 8.1 preview to final release


R. Mansfield
 Share

Recommended Posts

I suppose we need a "Mainly Windows" forum to match the "Mainly Macintosh" forum. This post might more appropriately go there.

 

I just wanted to give a warning to anyone who might have been running the Windows 8.1 preview. Upgrading to the final version released today completely wipes all installed programs, including Accordance--including modules!

 

Now, I essentially knew this was going to happen, but not quite to this extent. Since personal files and settings were to be migrated, I assumed my Accordance modules and preferences would remain.

 

Not so.

 

If I had it to do over, I would have copied all modules and preference files to an external drive. Since I didn't do that, I'm downloading hundreds of modules all over again. And I've completely lost my settings for my toolbar and library arrangement.

 

On a positive note, however, the Accordance folder in the Documents folder, which contains highlights, notes, and user tools remained intact. Evidently, anything in the documents folder gets migrated.

 

Just thought I'd pass all this along.

Edited by R. Mansfield
Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, I'm not referring to an Accordance upgrade.

 

Windows 8.1 was officially released today. When I updated today from the preview version released a few weeks back to the final version released today, it deleted all Accordance-related files except those in my documents folder. I did not fully realize it would do that, so I am passing on the warning to anyone else who might be running the preview version of Windows 8.1.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Rick, to confirm, this will not be an issue for those upgrading from Windows 8 to Windows 8.1, correct? Rather, this is something to be aware of for those who were using the preview version of Windows 8.1?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I believe that is correct, Darin, but I can't definitively confirm.

 

I did have a warning saying that I would have to reinstall applications. The warning said all my personal files and settings would be carried over, and I misinterpreted the meaning of that last part. So, I would say that if anyone is upgrading and does get that message, it would be best to cancel the upgrade and backup anything such as modules or preference files to keep from having to reinstall from scratch.

 

And let me reiterate that this is not an issue with Accordance. I had to reinstall every desktop application--even MS Office.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I can definitely confirm that upgrading from 8.0 directly to the 8.1 final release does not require any loss of data or applications. Just did it without a hitch and Accordance, along with all my other apps, fire up perfectly. Only upgrading from the preview of 8.1 to its final requires the wiping of applications.

Edited by Mark Nigro
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Rick is certainly right in suggesting a mainly Windows forum. Many of the worst habits of poster's on the logos forums are now cropping up here (i.e. prefacing every question with the word BUG. I guess that was the only way to get logos to respond. Accordance has a "Bug Swatters" section, that should be enough.) Windows is very different from Mac OSX, Windows problems need their own forum and the rest of us do nit need to read about those problems.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Don't forget, Rich, there already is a Bug Swatters - Windows forum, where any bugs should be posted.

 

I've created the 'Windows Wisdom' forum, and moved this topic there.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Right but they are still up to their old tricks. When I see the word "bug" especially in all caps, I know it's a Windows guy and I know which software they are used to. Hopefully "Windows Wisdom will take care of much of this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Rick,

 

I'm planning to do this upgrade one of these days. How exactly is this way of saving the modules on an external drive to avoid this total wipeout? How do we install these modules back without Easy Install?

 

Thanks,

--anthony

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Rick, I think this is typical for pre-release versions of Windows. IIRC, the RTM version of Win8 did not preserve the pre-release settings. I know the developer preview (prior to pre-release) was a minefield every new version. It's understandable, migrating data between versions is a pain in the neck, which MS will undertake for general users, but the 'bleeding edge' do pay a bit of a penalty in this respect.

 

Myself, I've been more than a little slack, I haven't even upgraded to 8.1 yet. :(

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...